Paws behind bars logo of the Wisconsin Puppy Mill Project, Inc.


Authors & Co-sponsors

Mama Dachsund in a filthy, small cage in a USDA - licensed facility in Wisconsin
(Click on photo for a larger view)

What Is A Puppy Mill?   *   What Can I Do About It?   *   Laws/Legislation   *   ACTION ALERTS!


 pawprint bullet point   Printer-Friendly Summary/Co-sponsor List (pdf)   pawprint bullet point


       The request for co-sponsorship for AB-250/SB-208, The Commerical Dog Breeders Licensure Bill, closed on April 24, 2009 at 5:00 pm. Many have mentioned the number of calls and emails from constituents urging them to do so! If your representatives are on this list, please email them and thank them.

       Many of you are asking how this support compares with past bills. In 2003-2004, AB536 gained 40 authors and co-sponsors. The CURRENT Smith -Krietlow bill has a total of 70 authors and co-sponsors! Congratulations to everyone who worked to get this great support to AB-250/SB-208!

Here is the complete list of the authors and co-sponsors -- two asked to be added at the Assembly vote on 27 October 2009 and are marked with a **:


"The only way to defeat a strong united front is to become one yourself!"
                Barbara J. Davis


Bill Authors:

Bill Cosponsors (Senate):

  1. Sen. Tim Carpenter (D- Milwaukee)

  2. Sen. Spencer Coggs (D-6)

  3. Sen. Robert Cowles (R-Green Bay)

  4. Sen. Scott Fitzgerald (R)

  5. Sen. Dave Hansen (D)

  6. Sen. Jim Holperin (D)

  7. Sen. Theodore Kanavas (R)

  8. Sen. Dan Kapanke (R-32)

  9. Sen. Alan Lasee  (R-Door)

  10. Senator Julie Lassa (D-24)

  11. Senator John Lehman (D-21)

  12. Sen. Joe Leibham (R-9)

  13. Sen. Luther Olsen (R-Waupaca)

  14. Sen. Jeffrey Plale (D-Madison)

  15. Sen. Fred Risser (D-Madison)

  16. Sen. Dale Schultz (R-Juneau)

  17. Sen. Jim Sullivan (D-Milwaukee)

  18. Sen. Lena Taylor (D-Milwaukee)

  19. Sen. Robert Wirch (D-22)

Bill Cosponsors (Assembly):

  1. Rep. Peter Barca  (D-Kenosha)

  2. Rep. Chuck Benedict (D-Beloit)

  3. Rep. Terese Berceau (D-Madison)

  4. Rep. Penny Bernard-Schaber  (D-Appleton)

  5. Rep. Garey Bies (R-Sister Bay)

  6. Rep. Spencer Black (D-Madison)

  7. Rep. Pedro Colon (D-Milwaukee)

  8. Rep. David Cullen  (D-Milwaukee)

  9. Rep. Brett Davis  (R-Oregon)

  10. Rep. Kristen Dexter (D-Eau Claire )

  11. Rep. Jason Fields  (D-Milwaukee)

  12. Rep. Mark Gottlieb  (R-Port Washington)

  13. Rep. Tamara Grigsby (D-Milwaukee)

  14. Rep. Gary Hebl (D-Sun Prairie)

  15. Rep. Steve Hilgenberg  (D-Dodgeville)

  16. ** Representative Gordon Hintz (D- Oshkosh)

  17. Rep. Kim Hixson (D - Whitewater)

  18. Rep. Mark Honadel (R-South Milwaukee )

  19. Rep Andy Jorgensen (D-Fort Atkinson)

  20. Rep. Steve Kestell (R- Elkhart Lake)

  21. **Representative Thomas Lothian (R- Delavan, Williams Bay, Lake Geneva)

  22. Rep. Cory Mason (D-Racine)

  23. Rep. Louis Molepske, Jr. (D-Stevens Point)

  24. Rep. Phil Montgomery (R-Green Bay)

  25. Rep. Alvin Ott  (R-Forest Junction)

  26. Rep. Jim Ott  (R-Mequon)

  27. Rep. Joel Parisi  (D-Madison)

  28. Rep. Sandy Pasch (D-Whitefish Bay)

  29. Rep. Mark Pocan  (D-Madison)

  30. Rep. Sondy Pope-Roberts (D-Verona)

  31. Rep. Donald Pridemore (R- Hartford)

  32. Rep. Jon Richards (D-Milwaukee)

  33. Rep. Kelda Helen Roys (D-Madison)

  34. Rep. Marlin Schneider (D-Wisconsin Rapids)

  35. Rep. Donna Seidel (D-Wausau)

  36. Rep. Gary Sherman (D-Port Wing)

  37. Rep. Jennifer Shilling (D - LaCrosse)

  38. Rep. James Soletski (D-Green Bay )

  39. Rep. Richard Spanbauer (R-Oshkosh)

  40. Rep. Tony Staskunas (D-West Allis)

  41. Rep. John Steinbrink (D-Kenosha)

  42. Rep. Jeffrey Stone (R-Greendale)

  43. Rep. Robert Turner (D-Racine)

  44. Rep. Terry VanAkkeren (D-Sheboygan)

  45. Rep. Karl Van Roy (R-Green Bay)

  46. Rep. Annette Polly Williams (D-Milwaukee)

  47. Rep. Jeffrey Wood (I-Chippewa Falls)

  48. Rep. Leon Young (D-Milwaukee)

  49. Rep. Josh Zepnick (D-Milwaukee)

  50. Rep. Ted Zigmunt ( D- Francis Creek)

  51. Rep. Rich Zipperer (R-Pewaukee)


       We want to say THANK YOU to all these caring legislators! If you are a legislator and would like to sign on as co-sponsor, please contact either Rep. Smith or Sen. Kreitlow. If you are a citizen of Wisconsin, and your representative's name does not appear here, please see Contacting Your WI Legislators for suggestions on how to find out who your representatives are, how to reach them, and what to say.

 pawprint bullet point   Printer-Friendly Summary/Co-sponsor List (pdf)   pawprint bullet point


 pawprint bullet point   AB-250/SB-208, THE COMMERCIAL DOG BREEDERS LICENSURE BILL   pawprint bullet point

 pawprint bullet point   History of Assembly Bill 250   pawprint bullet point   History of Senate Bill 208   pawprint bullet point

 pawprint bullet point   Entire AB-250/SB-208 (pdf)   pawprint bullet point   Summary of AB-250/SB-208   pawprint bullet point   FAQ   pawprint bullet point

 pawprint bullet point   Cosponsors   pawprint bullet point   Supporters   pawprint bullet point   Media   pawprint bullet point   Contacting Your WI Legislators   pawprint bullet point

What Is A Puppy Mill?
What Can I Do?
Laws/ Legislation


Home   *   Contact Us   *   Site Map 

What is a Puppy Mill?   *   What YOU Can Do   *   Laws/Legislation   *   Action Alerts

Thorp Dog Auctions   *   Puppy Mill Survivors   *   Photo Album

Guide to Finding a Pet   *    Breeders With Pride   *   Drive To Save Lives!


© Copyright, 2009. The Wisconsin Puppy MIll Project
P.O. Box 926    *    Sheboygan, WI 53082-0926   *

Photos Copyright 2007, by the Wisconsin Puppy Mill Project. All Rights Reserved. Used with permission.

Website design by Hook & Web Designs